Programs and Services
Section 8 Housing Assistance Program

HUD The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) designated the North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs as a Public Housing Agency in 1976. This designation gave the commission authority to provide rent assistance through the operation of Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program.

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program is the federal government’s major program for assisting very low-income families, the elderly and the disabled to afford decent, safe and sanitary housing for eligible families regardless of race, religion or political affiliation in the private market. Program funds are awarded to the program by HUD through Annual Contributions Contracts and are used to subsidize the difference between the cost of rent and a maximum of 30 percent of the household’s adjusted gross income.

Service Area

The program’s service areas include the counties of Granville, Hoke, Person, Sampson and Warren. Rent assistance is provided on a limited basis to eligible families in Halifax and Columbus counties through special agreements with local public housing authorities.   For housing assistance in other counties, please contact your local public housing authority.

For additional information about the program, please call 919-807-4440.

IMPORTANT - The Section 8 Housing Program is not taking applications at this time.

Waiting List Questions

  • If you want to inquire about your position on the waiting list, please Contact:
                 Section 8 Program Director
                 David Grigsby
                 Email: david.grigsby@doa.nc.gov
  • If you want to change your phone number, address, or other personal information on your application, go to https://nccomm.housingmanager.com

Administrative Plan


Program Director

Office Processing Assistants

Field Inspectors

Please call the main office at 919-807-4440 for scheduled dates and times.

Tim Locklear

Hoke and Columbus counties

Steven Maynor
Sampson county

Section 8 office
Granville county

Gary Lynch
Halifax, Person and Warren counties

Section 8 General Office Changes

Effective 2/12/2014 Effective 2/21/2014
Roxboro Section 8 Housing Office
Lyle Street Community Center
808 Lyle Street
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone: 336-322-3111
Oxford Section 8 Housing Office
P.A.C.T. Center at the Oxford Housing Authority
105 Hillside Dr.
Oxford, NC
Phone: 919-693-2456