
North Carolina Virtual Public School 
Program for Home School Students

The North Carolina Virtual Public School (NCVPS) 
now offers certain courses for non-public home 
school students. New Visiting Students Policy 
set forth by the North Carolina State Board of 
Education (SBE) allows local education agencies 
(LEAs) to enroll non-public students into online 
courses offered by NCVPS and to collect fees 
for such enrollments.  Parents should review the 
Non-Public Education legislation (Chapter 
115C –Article 39) to determine eligibility of their 
students to participate in the NCVPS non-public 
school program.

The Visiting Students Policy

•  Permits students to enroll in NCVPS courses 
through the LEA access to the NCVPS 
registration system.  

•  Student grades will be reported by NCVPS to 
the local school system.  

•  Participation by home-schooled students is a 
decision made by the system administrators.
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Course Options  

Psychology
Success 101

Latin I
Latin II

Visual Journaling
SAT Prep

African-American History
Personal Finance

Accounting I

For a current listing, visit 
http://www.ncups.org/index.php/courses.

Note that core subjects (reading, spelling, 
grammar and math) should be taught by home 

school parent or guardian according to 
North Carolina General Statutes.

Course Cost 

Course cost varies according to length. 
One credit course ranges from $500 - $915

How Do I Register My Student?

Visit http://www.ncvps.org/index.php/non-
public-school-students/. 

For additional information, please call 
919-513-8550 or e-mail 

ncvpsinfo@ncpublicschools.gov.

Home School Law Reminders

While not mandated by law, home schools are 
strongly encouraged to:

•  Offer instruction of at least similar quality, 
scope and duration as local conventional 
schools.

•  Maintain at least five clock hours (300 
minutes) of instruction with the student(s) 
each school day.

•  Conduct instruction each school year for  
180 days.

•  Maintain a current daily log, journal or lesson 
plan book throughout the entire school year 
detailing time period for each subject each 
day and the information covered during the 
specified time period.

•  Retain records at your school at least until the 
student has enrolled in a conventional school 
or has graduated.

•  Administer and score a nationally 
standardized test each year during the same 
week of your choice between March 1 and 
April 15 by someone not living in the same 
household as the student.

http://www.ncvps.org/index.php/non-public-school-students/


Frequently Asked Questions

Are these college credit classes really free for 
home schooled students?
 
Yes. Tuition is waived for home schooled students 
enrolled in the CCP pathways. Students are 
responsible for the cost of text books and other 
expenses.

How do we determine if our home-school 
students are juniors or seniors, and whether 
they are making progress toward high school 
graduation? 

The home school chief administrator (usually the 
parent) must certify that the student is a junior or 
senior and is making progress toward graduation.
A CCP representative can assist in determining 
eligibility.

What constitutes “continue to make progress 
toward high school graduation”? Does this 
mean that a student can take only community 
college courses (no high school courses) since 
they receive dual credit?

Participating students can take courses at their 
high school and community college. The LEA, 
home school chief administrator will monitor 
academic progress to ensure that students are 
progressing towards high school completion. 

Contact Information 

Contact the High School Programs Coordinator 
at your local North Carolina community college. 

For additional information, please visit 
http://www.careercollegenc.org. 

Through Career and College Promise (CCP), 
qualified North Carolina high-school age 
students can begin their two- or four-year 
college work, tuition free, while they are in high 
school, allowing them to get a head start on their 
workplace and college preparation.  The program 
is  free to all students who maintain a “B” average 
and meet other eligibility requirements.  

The two pathways to chose from are:

College Transfer – Earn tuition-free course 
credits toward a four-year degree through North 
Carolina’s community colleges. All credits in 
the completion of 44-hour credit program will 
transfer to all UNC institutions and many of 
North Carolina’s Independent Colleges and 
Universities.

Technical Career – Earn tuition-free course 
credits at a North Carolina community college 
toward an entry-level job credential, certificate or 
diploma in a technical career.

Basic Eligibility

• High school junior or senior status as of 
January 2012 or later.

•  Weighted 3.0 GPA

• Continue to make progress toward high 
school  graduation.

• Complete transcript (homeschool and other 
courses, if applicable).

•  Copy of homeschool registration form.

•  Meet testing requirements (examples: SAT, 
ACT, PSAT, PLAN).

•  Complete application (may vary by 
community college).

•  Contact a CCP representative to schedule an 
appointment.

This online public record document was produced in 
September 2012.
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