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North Carolina State Government Flag Guide

About this Guide 

This guide is designed to direct state agencies regarding the flying of the North 
Carolina and United States flags on state-owned buildings or properties. It also 
may be used by citizens who wish to make informed decisions about flying flags on 
private property.1 The protocols for flying the flags at state facilities are a combination 
of state and federal statutes and policies.
In this guide you will find:

• Flag Display Guidelines for Internal and External Use
• Processions
• Flying Flags at Half-Staff– Authority, Protocol and Notifications
• Proper Disposal
• Flag Orders

___________________________________________________

1 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 5: Display and use of flag by civilians; codification of rules and 
customs; definition

https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
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Displaying Flags
The United States and North Carolina flag must be flown each day, 
and especially on all state and federal holidays.2 

For External Display

It is custom to display the United States and North Carolina flags 
only from sunrise to sunset on state buildings and stationary 
flagstaffs in front of state buildings. However, when a patriotic 
effect is desired, the flags may be displayed 24-hours a day if 
properly illuminated during the hours of darkness.3 

Neither the United States nor the North Carolina flag should be 
displayed in inclement weather unless an all-weather flag is used.4 

The North Carolina flag should never be placed above the United 
States flag; if on the same level, the North Carolina flag should be 
placed to the right of the United States flag.5 

When the North Carolina flag is flown on the same halyard with 
the United States flag, it should always be under the national flag. 
When the North Carolina flag is flown from adjacent staffs, the 
United States flag should always be hoisted first and lowered last.6 

For Internal Display

When the North Carolina flag is displayed with the 
United States flag against a wall from crossed staffs, 
the North Carolina flag should be on the left (the NC 
flag’s own left), and its staff should be behind the 
staff of the United States flag.7 

Processions

The North Carolina flag, when carried in a procession with the 
United States flag, should be on the marching left; that is, to the 
left of the United States flag.8 

___________________________________________________

2 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 6(d): Time and occasions for display
3 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 6(a): Time and occasions for display
4 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 6(c): Time and occasions for display
5 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 7(c): Position and manner of display
6 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 7(f): Position and manner of display
7 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 7(d): Position and manner of display
8 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 7: Position and manner of display

https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
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Flying Flags at Half-Staff
President and Governor Authority

Flags may be flown at half-staff by Presidential proclamation 
or by the Governor’s order for government properties. Only the 
President of the United States and Governors of states, territories 
or possessions have the authority to issue such proclamations and 
orders. The President has authority to lower flags on all buildings, 
grounds, and naval vessels of the federal government. The Governor 
has authority over all flags at North Carolina facilities. In this capacity, the Governor 
may order the flags at state facilities to be flown at half-staff.9  

Annual Half-Staff Proclamations

Each year, flags are lowered to half-staff for the following observances.

• National Firefighters Memorial Day, First Sunday in May (sunrise to sunset)
• Peace Officers Memorial Day, May 15 (sunrise to sunset)
• Memorial Day, Last Monday in May (sunrise to 12 noon)
• Patriot Day, September 11 (sunrise to sunset)
• Pearl Harbor Day, December 7 (sunrise to sunset)

Protocol for Flying Flags at Half-Staff

The duration that flags shall be displayed at half-staff shall be determined by the 
Presidential proclamation or Governor’s order, or in the absence of any order or 
instruction, as defined in the U.S. Flag Code.10 

The flag of the state of North Carolina shall be displayed at half-staff for the same 
period as the flag of the United States. 

At no time shall an order be given that would result in the flag of the state of North 
Carolina being displayed in a manner inconsistent with the various policies governing 
the display of both the United States and North Carolina flags. As an example, since 
no flag may ever be flown above the flag of the United States, it shall never be 
possible for the flag of North Carolina to be displayed at full staff while the United 
States flag is at half-staff.11 

The above North Carolina State Flag policy will always apply unless otherwise 

___________________________________________________  
9 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 7(m): Position and manner of display
10PROC. No. 3044. Display of Flag at Half-Staff Upon Death of Certain Officials and Former Officials
11 U.S. Flag Code, Chapel 1, Statute 7(c): Position and manner of display
12 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 7(m): Position and manner of display

https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
U.S. Flag Code, Chapel 1, Statute 7(c): Position and manner of display
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
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ordered by the President of the United States or the Governor of North Carolina.
The flag, when flown at half-staff, should be first hoisted to the peak for an instant 
and then lowered to the half-staff position. The flag should again be raised to the 
peak before it is lowered for the day.12 

Half-Staff Notifications/Alerts
 
Any communications to be sent throughout the state regarding\the lowering of 
flags to half-staff will be managed by the NC Department of Administration in the 
following manner: 

Upon receipt of an order from the Governor, the Secretary of Administration shall 
notify the members of the Governor’s Cabinet and selected state agencies. The 
list shall be maintained by the Department of Administration. State agencies not 
contacted by the Secretary of Administration shall be notified by their respective 
cabinet member.

A decision to fly the flag or flags at half-staff throughout the state shall be made 
known to the public by website, social media or via email from the North Carolina 
Flag Alert Listserv. To receive notifications, visit the North Carolina Flag Alert 
Registration page to subscribe.

All such orders to fly the flag at half-staff will be issued by the Governor in 
written form indicating the occasion being observed, the flag(s) to be lowered 
(North Carolina or North Carolina and United States), and the length of time the 
flag(s) should be at half-staff. In the absence of the Governor, the Secretary of 
Administration will issue such orders.

Special Circumstances
State and Federal Holidays

For state government agencies, whenever the public holiday falls on Sunday, the 
following Monday is the public holiday. 

Local Governments and Municipalities

Local government officials may also lower the United States and North Carolina flag 
on local government buildings upon the death of a current or former locally elected 
official (i.e., former mayor, city councilmember, etc.).13 

___________________________________________________

13 PROC. No. 3044. Display of Flag at Half-Staff Upon Death of Certain Officials and Former Officials 
14 North Carolina General Statute 143-345.9: Official “Prisoner of War/Missing in Action” flag to be   
flown over the State Capitol
15 U.S. Flag Code, Chapter 1, Statute 8(k): Respect for flag

https://ncadmin.nc.gov/news/flag-alerts/subscribe-flag-alerts
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_143/GS_143-345.9.pdf
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_143/GS_143-345.9.pdf
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title4-chapter1&saved=%7CZ3JhbnVsZWlkOlVTQy1wcmVsaW0tdGl0bGU0LXNlY3Rpb242%7C%7C%7C0%7Cfalse%7Cprelim&edition=prelim
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Prepared by the North Carolina Department of Administration 6/2023.

POW/MIA Flag

In honor of their service and in remembrance of their sacrifice, the Department of 
Administration is authorized by statute to fly the official “Prisoner of War/Missing in 
Action (POW/MIA)” flag over the State Capitol.14 

Proper Flag Disposal 

Dry cleaning a soiled flag is not prohibited, but when it is in such condition that it is 
no longer a fitting emblem for display it should be destroyed in a dignified manner, 
preferably by burning. Many veterans’ and scouting organizations collect tattered 
flags for ceremonial disposal.15 

How to Order a Flag

A United States and/ or North Carolina flag may be ordered from the NC Department 
of Administration’s Division of Facility Management. The flag request form can be 
accessed here.

For inquiries or to request additional information, please visit the Division of Facility 
Management’s website or call 919-733-3514 for details.

https://ncdoa-facility-mgmt.formstack.com/forms/flag_request
https://ncadmin.nc.gov/divisions/facility-management/buy-official-nc-and-us-flags

