STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

9:30 AM

October 31, 2023

MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT - Chair Katherine Lynn (SCO Conference Room), Dene' Alexander (SCO Conference Room), Roger Woods (SCO Conference Room), Honorable Neville Hall (MS Teams), Bill Aceto (MS Teams), Rob McClintock (MS Teams), and Jack Hargett (MS Teams).

SCO STAFF PRESENT (SCO Conference Room) - Michael J. Shumsky (SCO Director), Vibha Goel, Will Johnson, Ryan Scruggs, Aaron Lumpe, Ralph Taylor, Antoinette Lewis, and Golnoosh Shakibania.

OTHERS PRESENT (MS Teams) - Andrew Meier (DACS), Kristie Corson (DEQ-DMS), Katherine Tamer (NCGA), and LeaAnne Hahnel (SCO).

OTHERS PRESENT (SCO Conference Room) - Mark Edwards (Chief Deputy Secretary, DOA), Mark Teague (DOJ), Lamar Lewis (DOJ), Dorrine Fokes (NCCCS), and Angela Dorman (NCCCS)

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ETHICS STATEMENT

Chair Katherine Lynn was present in the State Construction Office Large Conference Room. Chair Katherine Lynn called the meeting to order at 9:30 AM and read the ethics statement.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (September 26, 2023)

Jack Hargett made a motion to approve the September 26, 2023 Minutes. Neville Hall seconded the motion. 7= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, and Dene' Alexander)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

3. EMERGENCY DECLARATION LETTER

Michael J. Shumsky presented One Emergency Declaration.

➤ North Carolina Department of Administration: Department of Administration Bldg. - Staff Relocation October 23, 2023

4. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

NC Forest Service

New County Office for Lenoir County and Jones County

Kinston, NC and Trenton, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. The Walker Group Architecture Incorporated (New Bern, NC)
- 2. 310 Architecture & Interiors, PA (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Osterlund Architects, PLLC (Raleigh, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve, and Bill Aceto seconded the motion.

7= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, and Dene' Alexander)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

5. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services WNC Agricultural Center Outdoor Covered Arena Fletcher, NC

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Novus Architects Inc. (Asheville, NC)
- 2. Form & Function Architecture, P.C. (Asheville, NC)
- 3. Studio Archibene PLLC (Durham, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve, and Dene' Alexander seconded the motion.

7= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, and Dene' Alexander)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

6. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Safety

National Guard

Morrisville AASF 1 Aircraft Maintenance Hangar (Commissioning)

Wake County, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. System WorCx, PLLC (Charlotte, NC)
- 2. RMF Engineering, Inc, P.C. (Charlotte, NC)
- 3. Engineered Designs, Inc. (Cary, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve, and Dene' Alexander seconded the motion.

7= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, and Dene' Alexander)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

7. SELECTION OF TWO (2) DESIGN FIRMS

Department of Environmental Quality

Division of Mitigation Services

2023 On-Call Design Services

Statewide, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended for the 2023 On-Call Design Services.

- 1. KCI Associates of North Carolina, P. A. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Ecosystem Planning and Restoration, PLLC (Cary, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve, and Dene' Alexander seconded the motion.

7= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, and Dene' Alexander)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

8. INNOVATION SUBCOMMITTEE UPDATE

The next meeting has been scheduled for November 8, 2023.

9. OLD BUSINESS

None.

10. NEW BUSINESS

Mr. Shumsky, PE, presented the State Board of Community Colleges' Annual Report of Community Colleges holding Special Construction Delegation Authority for the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 per G.S. 115D-9(g).

11. STATE CONSTRUCTION OFFICE REPORT

Mr. Shumsky, PE, provided an update on Executive Order 266 (Updating the North Carolina Uniform Floodplain Management Policy for State Construction. A call for nominations was sent for the 2024 Frank B. Turner Award and 2024 SBC Certificate of Merit Award Program.

Mr. William Johnson, RA provided an update on OC-25 (Cost Estimate) Form and DOA Shared Service Campus project.

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

Vibha Goel, RA provided an update on the Design Review Section: 142 plans received in the month of October; 142 responses provided, 270 YTD Exemption Projects; and 39 Tent Permits.

12. SCHEDULED NEXT MEETINGS

- November 28, 2023
- December 12, 2023 (Special Called Virtual)
- ➤ January 30, 2024

13. ADJOURNMENT

Roger Woods made a motion to adjourn. Chair Katherine Lynn seconded the motion and adjourned the meeting at 10:07 AM. 7= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, and Dene' Alexander)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain