STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

New Education Building, Suite 450, Raleigh, NC

9:30 AM November 28, 2023 <u>MINUTES</u>

MEMBERS PRESENT – Chair Katherine Lynn (SCO Conference Room), Vice Chair Baker Glasgow (SCO Conference Room), Kristen M. Hess (SCO Conference Room), Dene' Alexander (MS Teams), Roger Woods (MS Teams), Honorable Neville Hall (MS Teams), Bill Aceto (MS Teams), Rob McClintock (MS Teams), and Jack Hargett (MS Teams).

SCO STAFF PRESENT (SCO Conference Room) – Michael J. Shumsky (SCO Director), Vibha Goel, Will Johnson, Robert Talley, Ryan Scruggs, Aaron Lumpe, Ralph Taylor, and Golnoosh Shakibania.

OTHERS PRESENT (MS Teams) – Andrew Meier (DACS), Nasrin Sumee (DACS), Neal Enevoldsen (DHHS), Michael Snyder (DHHS - Murdoch Developmental Center), Jonathan Jones (DPI), Jordan Hanna (DOA), and LeaAnne Hahnel (SCO).

OTHERS PRESENT (SCO Conference Room) - Mark Teague (DOJ) and Katie Hall (NC Department of Secretary of State)

SPECIAL GUESTS (SCO Conference Room) - Elaine Marshall (North Carolina Secretary of State)

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ETHICS STATEMENT

Chair Katherine Lynn was present in the State Construction Office Large Conference Room. Chair Katherine Lynn called the meeting to order at 9:32 AM and read the ethics statement.

2. SWEARING IN OF NEW MEMBER

Ms. Kristen M. Hess was sworn in as a new member of the State Building Commission by Elaine Marshall, North Carolina Secretary of State.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (October 31, 2023)

Vice Chair Baker Glasgow made a motion to approve the October 31, 2023 Minutes. Dene' Alexander seconded the motion. 9= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, Dene' Alexander, and Kristen Hess) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

4. EMERGENCY DECLARATION LETTER

Michael J. Shumsky presented One Emergency Declaration.

NC School of Science and Mathematics: Educational Technology Center - Fire Protection and Structural Repairs October 30, 2023

5. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Health and Human Services Murdoch Developmental Center Campus Door Access Control Butner, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. DCI Design Collaborative, Inc. (Charlotte, NC)
- 2. Quality Consulting Engineers, PLLC (Indian Land, SC)
- 3. NV5 Engineers and Consultants, Inc. (Cary, NC)

Jack Hargett made a motion to approve and Roger Woods seconded the motion.

9= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, Dene' Alexander, and Kristen Hess)

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

0 = NAY Votes0 = Abstain

6. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services NC State Fairgrounds Commercial & Education Building - HVAC Replacement and Campus DDC Connectivity Raleigh, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Salas O'Brien North Carolina, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Progressive Design Collaborative, Ltd. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Wiley & Wilson, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)

Vice Chair Baker Glasgow made a motion to approve and Kristen Hess seconded the motion.

8= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, Dene' Alexander, and Kristen Hess)

0 = NAY Votes

1= Abstain (Roger Woods)

7. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Instruction Governor Morehead School - Sprinkler, ADA/Toilet, & Lighting Upgrades for Dorms A, B, C & D Raleigh, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Atlantec Engineers, PA (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Osterlund Architects, PLLC (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Devita & Associates, Inc. (Charlotte, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve and Bill Aceto seconded the motion.

9= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, Dene' Alexander, and Kristen Hess)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

8. INNOVATION SUBCOMMITTEE UPDATE

The next meeting has been scheduled for January 17, 2024.

9. OLD BUSINESS

None.

10. NEW BUSINESS

Mr. Shumsky, PE, provided an update on the State Ethics Commission Newsletter.

11. STATE CONSTRUCTION OFFICE REPORT

Mr. Shumsky, PE, provided an update on Executive Order 266 (Updating the North Carolina Uniform Floodplain Management Policy for State Construction).

Mr. William Johnson, RA provided an update on the process of reviewing and certifying OC-25 cost estimates for State agencies. OSBM requires a SCO certified OC-25 for all capital project funding requests from State agencies as they prepare their capital priorities in advance of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. To date, SCO has processed 204 OC-25s. This does not include any UNC institutions. On an annual basis, SCO processes approximately 1,000 OC-25s. Michael Ali, Robert Talley, and Will Johnson at SCO review and approve all OC-25 estimates, and a listing of the State agencies supported was provided.

Vibha Goel, RA provided an update on the Design Review Section: 111 plans received in the month of November; 131 responses provided, 285 YTD Exemption Projects; and 42 Tent Permits.

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

12. SCHEDULED NEXT MEETINGS

- December 12, 2023 (Special Called Virtual)
- January 30, 2024

13. ADJOURNMENT

Kristen Hess made a motion to adjourn, and Vice Chair Baker Glasgow seconded the motion. Chair Katherine Lynn adjourned the meeting at 10:02 AM.

9= AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Roger Woods, Bill Aceto, Neville Hall, Rob McClintock, Jack Hargett, Dene' Alexander, and Kristen Hess)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain