STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

9:30 AM April 29, 2025 **MINUTES**

MEMBERS PRESENT - Chair Katherine Lynn (SCO Large Conference Room), Vice Chair Baker Glasgow (SCO Large Conference Room), Rob McClintock (MS Teams), Bill Aceto (MS Teams), Jack Hargett (MS Teams), Dene' Alexander (MS Teams - Joined during Agenda Item #13) and Neville Hall (MS Teams)

SCO STAFF PRESENT (SCO Large Conference Room) - Michael Shumsky, Vibha Goel, Ryan Scruggs, Will Johnson, Bob Talley, Michael Ali, Dante Dingle, Shahgol Mostashari, and Mary Stevenson Keef

OTHERS PRESENT (SCO Large Conference Room) - Lewis Lamar (DOJ)

OTHERS PRESENT (**MS Teams**) - Neal Enevoldsen (DHHS), Hany Gorgui (DOT), Tony Brackett (DIT), and James Bullister (DPS-NG)

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ETHICS STATEMENT

Chair Katherine Lynn was present in the State Construction Office Large Conference Room Chair Katherine Lynn called the meeting to order at 9:30 AM and read the ethics statement

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (March 25, 2025)

Vice Chair Baker Glasgow motioned to approve the Minutes from March 25, 2025, and Jack Hargett seconded the motion 6 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Hargett, and Neville Hall) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

3. EMERGENCY DECLARATION LETTERS

Michael J. Shumsky presented Three (3) Emergency Declarations as Information Only:

- Department of Health and Human Services: Broughton Hospital Parking Lot Repairs (Morganton, NC) March 27, 2025
- Haywood Community College: Storm Drain Repairs (Clyde, NC) April 24, 2025
- The Governor Morehead School for the Blind: HVAC Controls for Multiple Buildings (Raleigh, NC) April 24, 2025

4. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Health and Human Services Longleaf Neuro-Medical Treatment Center Video Management System Wilson, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firm was recommended:

1. Quality Consulting Engineers, PLLC (Indian Land, SC)

Vice Chair Baker Glasgow motioned to approve, and Jack Hargett seconded the motion. 6 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Hargett, and Neville Hall 0 = NAY Votes 0 = Abstain

5. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Safety National Guard Raleigh CSMS - Roof Replacement Wake County, NC Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firm was recommended:

- 1. Smith Sinnett Architecture, P.A. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. REI Engineers, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Raymond Global, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)

Bill Aceto motioned to approve, and Neville Hall seconded the motion.

6 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Hargett, and Neville Hall) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

6. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Information Technology DIT Fiber Hub Renovations Raleigh, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Sigma Engineered Solutions, P.C. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Devita & Associates, Inc. (Charlotte, NC)

Vice Chair Baker Glasgow motioned to approve, and Jack Hargett seconded the motion.

6 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Hargett, and Neville Hall)

0 = NAY Votes0 = Abstain

7. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Transportation Surry County District Engineers Office Elkin, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Lambert Architecture + Interiors, PA (Winston-Salem, NC)
- 2. Morris-Berg Architects, Inc. (Charlotte, NC)
- 3. Biloba Architecture, PLLC (Charlotte, NC)

Rob McClintock motioned to approve, and Bill Aceto seconded the motion.

6 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Hargett, and Neville Hall)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

8. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Environmental Quality Division of Coastal Management Primland Public Water Access (Grapevine Landing) Columbia, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Andrew Consulting Engineers, P.C. (Wilmington, NC)
- 2. Moffatt & Nichol, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Arendell Engineers, P.A. (Morehead City, NC)

Jack Harnett motioned to approve, and Rob McClintock seconded the motion.

6 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Harnett, and Neville Hall)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

9. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Administration Downtown Government Complex – Exterior Water Intrusion Repairs Raleigh, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Raymond Global, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. REI Engineers, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. SKA Consulting Engineers, Inc. (Greensboro, NC)

Vice Chair Baker Glasgow motioned to approve, and Bill Aceto seconded the motion.

6 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Harnett, and Neville Hall)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

10. INNOVATION SUBCOMMITTEE UPDATE

> The next Innovations Committee Meeting is scheduled for May 21st in the State Construction Office.

11. OLD BUSINESS

None

12. NEW BUSINESS

A vote by commission members for a Chair and Vice Chair will occur at the June 10th meeting.

13. STATE CONSTRUCTION OFFICE REPORT

Vibha Goel, RA (Assistant Director - Design Review Section) provided a report with an overview of key activities within the design review process, including submittals received, responses issued, and exemption requests processed from January through April 28, 2025.

Month	January	February	March	April	Total to date
Submittals Received	142	175	169	169	655
Responses Issued	131	178	155	173	637
Exemption Requests processed	15	10	17	19	61
Tent Permits issued	1	3	6	5	15

14. SCHEDULED NEXT MEETINGS

June 10, 2025 August 26, 2025 September 30, 2025 October 28, 2025 December 9, 2025

15. ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chair Baker Glasgow motioned to approve, and Neville Hall seconded the motion.

7 = AYE Votes (Chair Katherine Lynn, Vice Chair Baker Glasgow, Rob McClintock, Bill Aceto, Jack Harnett, Neville Hall and Dene' Alexander) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = NAY vote

0 = Abstain

Chair Katherine Lynn adjourned the meeting at 10:00 AM