Andrea Harris Equity Task Force

Andrea Harris Equity Task Force

History of the Task Force

Reestablished under Executive Order No. 268, the Andrea Harris Equity Task Force has been reconstituted to further the economic development of disadvantaged communities, improve health and wellness outcomes in underserved communities and advance equitable and inclusive practices within state agencies.

Read the press release announcing the Task Force's reestablishment here.

First established under Executive Order No. 143, the Andrea Harris Social, Economic, Environmental, and Health Equity Task Force addressed the social, environmental, economic, and health disparities in communities of color disproportionally impacted by COVID-19 before sunsetting June 4, 2022.

The five focus areas of the original Task Force were: Access to Healthcare, Economic Opportunity and Business Development, Educational Opportunity, Environmental Justice and Inclusion, and Patient Engagement. 

Dec. 7, 2022 Meeting Photos

About Andrea Harris

A native North Carolinian, the late Andrea Harris was a trailblazer for minority businesses and communities. A graduate of Bennett College, Harris became one of the youngest community agency directors in the nation, helping fight poverty across three rural North Carolina communities.

Unwavering in passion to help others, she co-founded the Durham-based NC Institute of Minority Economic Development in 1986 to support minority and women-owned businesses, serving as president in 1990. After retiring from the Institute, Harris continued to serve on several boards including a 2017 appointment to the state's Advisory Council for Historically Underutilized Businesses.

She is a recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the Order of the Long Leaf Pine — the highest award for state service granted by the Office of the Governor — as well as an honorary doctorate from her alma mater.


Lunch & Learn Sessions: Implementing DEI for Your Business

External Mentor & Supplier Diversity Programs

Internal DEI Trainings and Employee Business Resource Groups

Diversity in Recruiting, Hiring & Training

About the Task Force

Task Force members are appointed by the Governor. It includes:

  • Secretary of the Department of Administration
  • Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer of the Department of Commerce or designee
  • Director of the Department of Information Technology Office of Digital Equity and Literacy or designee
  • Chief Health Equity Officer of the Department of Health and Human Services or designee
  • Executive Director of the Pandemic Recovery Office or designee
  • Director of the Department of Transportation Office of Civil Rights or designee
  • Director of the Department of Transportation Office of Historically Black Colleges and Universities Outreach or designee
  • Member of Hometown Strong
  • Member of the Commission on Indian Affairs
  • Member of the Governor's Advisory Council on Hispanic-Latino Affairs
  • Member of the Council for Women Advisory Board
  • Member of the Historically Underutilized Business Advisory Council
  • Member of the Commission on Inclusion
  • Representative from the North Carolina Community College System or UNC System Office
  • Representative from a North Carolina Historically Black College or University or a Minority Serving Institution
  • Representatives from four (4) community organizations aligned with the mission of the Andrea Harris Equity Task Force
  • Other appropriate experts from the focus areas listed above

Meeting Information


2024 Meeting Dates
March 6, 2024
May 1, 2024

For meeting minutes, email Jordan Hanna

Want to Serve? Find Your Fit!

Members of the public interested in joining one of the over 300 North Carolina boards and commissions can apply for Governor appointment online. If interested in joining a DOA board or commission, you can also reach out to for more information and to be considered when there are open positions.

Task Force Members

Member Name Professional Affiliations
Pamela Cashwell Secretary, NC Department of Administration
Betty Marrow Taylor Chief Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Officer, NC Department of Commerce
Annette Taylor Director, NC Department of Information Technology Office of Digital Equity & Literacy 
Debra Farrington Deputy Secretary & Chief Health Equity Officer, NC Department of Health & Human Services
Stephanie McGarrah Executive Director, NC Pandemic Recovery Office
Tunya Smith Director, NC Department of Transportation Office of Civil Rights
Christy Dunston Director, NC Department of Transportation Office of Historically Black Colleges & Universities Outreach
Jordan Lopez Policy Assistant, Governor’s Hometown Strong Office
Greg Richardson Executive Director, NC Department of Administration Commission on Indian Affairs
Yahel Humberto Flores Carolinas State Director, American Business Immigration Coalition
Member, Governor’s Advisory Council on Hispanic/Latino Affairs
Adrienne Spinner Director of Organizing, NC Housing Coalition
Member, NC Department of Administration Council for Women Advisory Board
Annette Stevenson President, Stevenson Consulting Group
Member, Governor’s Historically Underutilized Businesses Advisory Council
Andrew Spainhour Senior Vice President, Counsel Replacements LTD
Member, NC Department of Administration Commission on Inclusion 
Dr. Shun Robertson Vice President for Access & Access Strategy, UNC System Office
Dr. Angela Alvarado Coleman Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, North Carolina Central University
Juvencio Rocha-Peralta Executive Director, Association of Mexicans in NC (AMEXCAN)
Kevin Price President & CEO, The Institute 
Haihui Huang President & CEO, iPearl Inc.
President, Chinese American Economic & Cultural Association 
Dr. DeWarren Langley Executive Director, Charles Hamilton Houston Foundation Inc.
Dr. Lenora Richardson Campbell Former Dean, NC A&T State University College of Health and Human Sciences
Dr. Sonyia Richardson Associate Professor, UNC Charlotte School of Social Work (PhD, MSW, & LCSW)
Quinny Sanchez Lopez Health Care Access, Stakeholder Engagement & Community Outreach Manager, Unite Us (MSW)
Yazmin Garcia Rico Director of Latinx Policy, NC Department of Health & Human Services
Trey Rabon III President, AT&T North Carolina
Dr. Cedric Bright Dean of Admissions, ECU Brody School of Medicine 
Dr. James Johnson, Jr. Professor of Strategy & Entrepreneurship and Director of Urban Investment Strategies Centers, UNC Kenan-Flagler School of Business 
Chair, NC Department of Environmental Quality Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) Advisory Board
Margaret Weller-Stargell President & CEO, Coastal Horizons
Agency Liason Professional Affiliations
Gianna Quilici Policy Analyst, NC Department of Administration Office of the Secretary
Emily Roach Director of Policy & Strategic Planning, NC Department of Commerce
Carolina Fonseca Jimenez  Diversity & Equity Manager, NC Department of Environmental Quality
Member, NC Department of Environmental Quality EJI Advisory Board
Michael Leach Special Assistant to the Deputy Secretary, NC Department of Health & Human Services Office of the Secretary
Tracey Burns Deputy Secretary for Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, & Inclusion, NC Department of Natural & Cultural Resources
Michael Arnold Deputy Director & COO, NC Office of State Budget & Management
Dr. Andrea DeSantis Policy Advisor, NC Office of the Governor
Christy Berk Policy Advisor, NC Department of Transportation Office of Civil Rights