Miscellaneous Home School FAQs

Other Questions

Tab/Accordion Items

As a precautionary measure in response to COVID-19, the Division of Non-Public Education (DNPE) staff will only be available via phone and email during this time. To contact our office, please call 984-236-0110. Please leave a message and your call will be returned within 24-hours. You may also send an email to DNPE.General.Inquiries@doa.nc.gov, and someone will respond within 24-hours.

New notice of intents (NOIs) to operate a home school or requests to re-open a home school are accepted July 1 - April 30 annually.

In-person record review meetings will be suspended during the pandemic.  DNPE will notify home schools via email requesting the option to conduct a virtual record review meeting or to submit records via email or mail.

Yes, if there is at least one student involved who is at least age 7 but not yet age 16 (not yet age 18 if the student wishes to obtain/retain a North Carolina driver's permit/license).   No, if the only students enrolled are currently younger than age 7 (and will not turn age 7 during the current school year) or already age 18 or older.

You will need to close your home school just before leaving the state.

Log into your homeschool account. Select "Close Your Home School" and choose one of the options to get started closing your home school online.  You may also close your home school by calling DNPE at 984-236-0110 and informing a representative to close the home school.
A reminder that conventional (public/non-public) schools in other states may not recognize home school credit.

Not if your school is already registered with DNPE.

Instead, simply inform DNPE (by telephone, US mail, or by logging into your homeschool account) of the change of county, mailing address, and telephone number.

Yes, if:

  • the student is of North Carolina compulsory attendance age (at least age 7 but not yet age 16) and
  • the student will be staying within the State of North Carolina's geographical borders for more than 30 consecutive days during the traditional nine-month school year.

Claiming a primary residency out-of-state does not exempt the parent of such a student from North Carolina's compulsory attendance law.

DNPE does not gather or provide that information.  Such information can be acquired by contacting North Carolinians for Home Education (NCHE), Doreen Browning Consulting and M&M Educational Group, LLC.

Yes, there is a statewide home school convention complete with numerous workshops and a large book fair sponsored each spring by North Carolinians for Home Education.  

NCHE also conducts regional workshops each fall for home school support group leaders and disseminates information about various county or area-wide home school book fairs, etc. held throughout North Carolina. Contact NCHE at (919) 790-1100 for details about these types of activities. 

Homeschool Alliance of North Carolina sponsors a Love to Learn Conference which is open to all homeschoolers and provides a variety of speakers and sessions on a wide array of homeschooling topics. Speakers volunteer their expertise and conduct their sessions in an inviting environment for the sharing of home school information.

This organization also offers an on-line forum to facilitate networking and the sharing of information among North Carolina home schoolers; and organizes gatherings for the whole family at various places around North Carolina.

This page was last modified on 04/14/2023